M37

What a penetration test costs, and what the report contains

This is the material behind the video. Every figure below comes from a document anyone can open, and every row links to the document it came from. Nothing here is an estimate of ours, an average we computed from somebody else’s average, or a number a vendor gave us in private.

Harvested 2026-09-01.

The numbers in the video

$39,146
median awarded value, US federal penetration-testing contracts running 200 days or less
n = 37
What it does not mean. the price of one test. A short period of performance is a proxy for a scoped engagement, not a guarantee of one.
£1,250
median published day rate, UK G-Cloud suppliers
n = 15
What it does not mean. what the work was sold for. It is a rate card entry on a public framework, before any negotiation.
15%
share of all findings that are critical or high, across published reports
n = 478
What it does not mean. a statement about private engagements. These are reports firms chose to publish.
44%
published reports containing neither a critical nor a high finding
n = 478
What it does not mean. evidence that the tests were poor. For 60% of this corpus the Critical tier does not exist in the firm's own scale.
1,795
keyword matches read, to reach 157 defensible awards
n = 1795
What it does not mean. that the rest are fake. Most are training, licences, or a different kind of penetration test entirely.

How this was put together

Three public records, kept separate because they are not the same kind of number. Sellers' own published prices, most of which exist because the UK government makes publishing one a condition of being listed on its buying framework. Awarded US federal contracts, read one description at a time: a keyword search returned 1,795 and only 157 survived reading, the rest being training courses, software licences, military red teams, soil tests and, in four cases, viral penetration tests on medical gowns. And penetration-test reports the firms published themselves, parsed for what each one contains. Every row links to the document it came from.

What these numbers cannot tell you

What we could not get

What it cost, where a record says so

217 rows. You can sort by any column heading, and the box below narrows the table to rows containing a word you type. Opening a row shows the scope in the record’s own words, and the document it came from.

Showing 25 of 217 rows. In the order the harvest produced them.

Row detailRecord
PTaaS infrastructure, one-off test, up to 5 IPs$941fixedfixedAMICIS GROUP LIMITED2026-09-01source
PTaaS infrastructure, one-off test, up to 100 IPs$5,176fixedfixedAMICIS GROUP LIMITED2026-09-01source
PTaaS infrastructure, one-off test, up to 500 IPs$9,693fixedfixedAMICIS GROUP LIMITED2026-09-01source
PTaaS web application, one-off test, up to 1 app$1,255fixedfixedAMICIS GROUP LIMITED2026-09-01source
Work outside the PTaaS packages$1,129dailydailyAMICIS GROUP LIMITED2026-09-01source
External Infrastructure / Web Application Assessment / API / Internal Infra (and 9 more)$1,506dailydailyPEN TEST PARTNERS LLP2026-09-01source
IT Health Check$1,631dailydailyPEN TEST PARTNERS LLP2026-09-01source
Hardware / IOT Testing$1,757dailydailyPEN TEST PARTNERS LLP2026-09-01source
Application Penetration Test - Entry or Compliance (5-8 days)$8,988fixedfixedIBM UNITED KINGDOM LIMITED (X-Force Red)2026-09-01source
Application Penetration Test - Standard (12-18 days)$15,819fixedfixedIBM UNITED KINGDOM LIMITED (X-Force Red)2026-09-01source
Application Penetration Test - Advanced (17-25 days)$21,571fixedfixedIBM UNITED KINGDOM LIMITED (X-Force Red)2026-09-01source
External Network Penetration Test (up to 4 Class C segments)$8,449fixedfixedIBM UNITED KINGDOM LIMITED (X-Force Red)2026-09-01source
Internal Network Penetration Test (up to 4 Class C segments)$12,403fixedfixedIBM UNITED KINGDOM LIMITED (X-Force Red)2026-09-01source
Cloud Penetration Test - Small (2 accounts / 100 assets)$10,798fixedfixedIBM UNITED KINGDOM LIMITED (X-Force Red)2026-09-01source
Cloud Penetration Test - Large (10 accounts / 600 assets)$30,850fixedfixedIBM UNITED KINGDOM LIMITED (X-Force Red)2026-09-01source
Hardware Penetration Test - Advanced$49,484fixedfixedIBM UNITED KINGDOM LIMITED (X-Force Red)2026-09-01source
Application Vulnerability Scan (DAST) - Initial Scan$1,749fixedfixedIBM UNITED KINGDOM LIMITED (X-Force Red)2026-09-01source
Penetration Testing (CHECK ITHC, web app, cloud, AD, wireless...) FY25, Team Member$1,355dailydailyQINETIQ LIMITED2026-09-01source
Penetration Testing FY25, Team Leader$1,568dailydailyQINETIQ LIMITED2026-09-01source
Red Team Cyber Attacks / High Assurance Engagements FY25, Team Leader$1,882dailydailyQINETIQ LIMITED2026-09-01source
Web Application and API / External / Internal Pen Testing / ITHC$1,600dailydailyCYBER SECURITY ASSOCIATES LTD2026-09-01source
Red Teaming$2,196dailydailyCYBER SECURITY ASSOCIATES LTD2026-09-01source
Web penetration test, CMS, one-off$1,882fixedfixedISOTOMA LIMITED2026-09-01source
Web penetration test, transactional application, one-off$3,137fixedfixedISOTOMA LIMITED2026-09-01source
Web penetration test, CMS, continuous/ongoing$5,019fixedfixedISOTOMA LIMITED2026-09-01source
25 of 217 shown

What the reports contain

501 reports the firms published themselves. Severity words are not comparable between firms, so each row carries the ladder its own firm used. Open the row to see it.

Showing 25 of 501 reports. In the order the harvest produced them.

Row detailReport
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-logback-RC1.1not stated34510112open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-amneziavpnnot stated361631642open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-amneziavpn2not stated251000622open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-amneziavpn3-RC1.1not stated41621120open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-argovpnnot stated461301525open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-bridgefynot stated133444129136open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-conda-forge-RC1.0not stated531312442open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-coverdropnot stated84330011157open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-defo-2not stated281000037open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-freebrowser-RC1.4not stated872736666open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-leavehomesafenot stated591212423open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-litmuschaosnot stated501613453open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-nvmnot stated29402002open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-opentelemetrynot stated21702212open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-securedropnot stated701800792open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-thunderbird-send-RC1.2not stated712218652open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report-tor2-RC1.2not stated411714831open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report_groundtruthnot stated692034571open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report_psiphon-enot stated22500032open
7ASecurity7ASecuritypentest-report_wepn176831207139open
Cure53Cure53audit-report_coinbase-kmsnot stated21901116open
Cure53Cure53audit-report_distrust-toolkitnot stated22700034open
Cure53Cure53audit-report_ente-cryptonot stated15401210open
Cure53Cure53audit-report_micro-btc-signer1116401102open
Cure53Cure53audit-report_nip44-implementations10181000226open
25 of 501 shown

Ask us to run something

If you want this rerun against your own market, your own corpus of reports, or a record your organisation keeps, say so here. We read everything and we answer, including when the answer is no. If we take something on, the protocol is written down before the run starts and published with the result, whichever way the result goes.

9592 Solutions UG (haftungsbeschränkt), Fährstr. 217, 40221 Düsseldorf, Germany is the controller for what you send here. Your address and your message are used to answer you and to work out whether we take the request on, under Art. 6(1)(b) and Art. 6(1)(f) GDPR. They go to nobody else and they are not used for advertising. Write to christo@9592.tech for a copy or a deletion at any time. The longer version is on the privacy page.

9592 Solutions UG (haftungsbeschränkt), Düsseldorf · Privacy · youtube.com/@m37channel